top of page

Laws that Choke Creativity

Larry Lessig's said that piracy was taking a artist's post and using it/distributing it without the owners permission. A remix is when someone uses this content and creates a new idea from it, they interpret it differently and show it in a form of a video mashup or compilation video. He talked about how fair use only happened when you didn't take credit for what was created and only used it as a starting point for your idea. Basically if you just repost or share the original content without crediting the owner or without limiting what can be done, it could cause really big problems. I know many people who illegally download music and I could never do that, if I truly want to listen to something I do it legally which is why I normally buy my music off of iTunes or use Spotify.


bottom of page